All Press Releases for September 26, 2012

Mickey Petersen Wins English Poker Open 2012!

The new Poker King of England scoops GBP78,660.

    ESSEX, ENGLAND, September 26, 2012 /24-7PressRelease/ -- The English Poker Open 2012 took place from September 18th to 21st at The Fox Poker Club in the heart of London's West End.

This year's dedicated poker venue saw Danish player Mickey Petersen become the "Poker King of England" at the Main Event. He took home GBP78,660 from the GBP250,000 GBP prize pool.

The tournament attracted 137 players into an exceptional field consisting of many pros such as Sam Trickett, Surinder Sunar, Liv Boeree, Ben Jackson, James Akenhead, Neil Channing, Fabian Quoss, Igor Kurganov, Rhys Jones, Chris Bjorin, James Dempsey, Simon Deadman and Roberto Romanello.

Players could either buy their seats directly (buy-in GBP2000) or qualify via satellites at several online poker rooms which included Cake Poker, Euroclub, Genting Poker, Intertops and Lock Poker.

After the first three days of the tournament, the fourth day delivered a final table with action from some big players, culminating in the Heads Up between Mickey Petersen and Chris Bjorin. With a 4.5-to-1 chip advantage, Petersen played aggressively throughout. The final hand saw him shove with 9c-9h and Bjorin called from the big blind with As-Kc. The board was dealt 7h-Td-8h-5s-5h, sealing Petersen's victory with his pocket 9's.

Karim Wilkins, CEO of RakeTheRake , who sponsored the tournament for its third year, commented, "Since its launch in 2009 the English Poker Open has delivered a high calibre field and never more so than this year with the significant number of pros in attendance. It has been a superb tournament and hopefully a very enjoyable one for all involved."

The Open provided on-going entertainment over the four days via its live webcast and blog updates on the EPO website. For those who missed the event and live coverage, all the updates and photos remain available:

EPO2012 Final Table Results

1. Mickey Petersen - GBP78,660
2. Chris Bjorin - GBP49,690
3. Surinder Sunar - GBP35,880
4. Jamie Roberts - GBP28,290
5. Nicola Lategano - GBP20,700
6. Ben Jackson - GBP15,180
7. Niels Ladefoged - GBP10,350
8. Thomas Laumier - GBP8,280
9. Igor Kurganov - GBP6,210

RakeTheRake, the largest rakeback network, works with all the top online poker rooms to bring up to 75% rakeback to players. With over $500k in freerolls and rake races on offer every month and free poker training, RakeTheRake provides online poker players with the very best return on their game.

RakeTheRake is the largest and most reputable rakeback affiliate in the market. We work with all the top poker rooms to increase traffic to their sites, and to secure the best rakeback deals for our players.

For further information, please contact us at or via: @raketherake

# # #

Contact Information

Marketing Department
Armchair Partners
Chelmsford, Essex
Voice: +44 (0)1245 347254
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website

Comment on this story...