Minnesota Department of Public Safety Cracks Down on Holiday Drunk Driving -- If you've been arrested for drunk driving, you're not alone. Minnesota law enforcement authorities cited hundreds of drivers for DWI in December and early January. --
January 08, 2013 /24-7PressRelease/ -- The colder season is filled with holiday festivities. It is tradition for Minnesotans to partake in the merriment of Thanksgiving get-togethers, Christmas parties and New Year's Eve celebrations. The holidays are a time to reunite with old friends and family. However, along with many of these festivities comes the spirit of overindulgence: plenty of gifts, an assortment of rich foods, and in many instances, one too many alcoholic beverages.
In the month of December 2012, Minnesota's Department of Public Safety reported that approximately 1,300 people had been arrested for driving while intoxicated.
This was no surprise as law enforcement has been working vigorously -- especially during the holiday season -- to prevent drunk driving.
The Department of Public Safety has been on a mission, urging Minnesotans to plan a sober ride if they plan to drink. Authorities recommend that individuals arrange a sober driver, walk or use public transportation if consuming alcohol.
The good news is that since 2002, there has been a downward trend of drunk driving incidents on Minnesota roadways. Yet, while drunk driving incidents are down in recent years, officials note that New Year's Eve is still considered one of the most dangerous nights on Minnesota roads.
According to Channel 5 Eyewitness News, Minnesota State Patrol troopers used patrolling initiatives to arrest 25 people in the state for drunk driving on New Year's Eve and early New Year's Day this year. The arrests were made between the hours of 6 p.m. Monday and 8 a.m. Tuesday.
The importance of retaining a criminal law attorney
If you are found guilty of drunk driving, you face a misdemeanor punishable with up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $1,000 on your first offense, OR if you test .20 or more, you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in Jail and/or a $3000 fine, EVEN THOUGH it is your first offense. These are just some of the consequences associated with a conviction.
The snowy season brings extra patrolling onto Minnesota roads, and you could be caught by authorities. Just because you are arrested however, does not automatically mean you will be found guilty. For example, if your arresting officer did not have reasonable grounds to stop you or probable cause to arrest you, this could compromise the state's case against you. Similarly, if officers administered a breath test to you and the device was not was not properly calibrated, this error could affect the admission of evidence in your case.
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you should contact an experienced Minnesota DWI attorney. A lawyer can assess your case and help ensure that your rights have been respected.
Article provided by Keller Law Offices
Visit us at http://www.dwi-legal.com
# # #
Read more Press Releases from FL Web Advantage:
Judge: no protection against workplace sexual harassment for interns
New law aims to make compounding pharmacies safer for consumers
For many, Chapter 7 bankruptcy is the better choice
Is your spouse hiding assets pursuant to a divorce?
Misdemeanor domestic violence: The right to own a gun
Colorado changing its Ignition Interlock Laws
Visitation rights for Texas parents
How to make holiday traveling safe
New York foreclosure rates up 3 percent since 2012, bankruptcy can help
Infant released from hospital with untreated jaundice won $26M
Press Release Contact Information:
FL Web Advantage E-Mail:Email us Here
This News Release can be viewed online at: http://www.24-7pressrelease.com