Atlanta Man Crashes Into House, Charged with DUI -- Sometimes, people make mistakes and put themselves in situations they will regret. --
February 21, 2013 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Sometimes, people make mistakes and put themselves in situations they will regret. Recently, an Atlanta man experienced this when he was charged with a DUI after he drove over a fence, through residential yards and crashed into the side of a house in Northwest Atlanta on December 30. A man who was inside the home was rushed to the hospital. There was another man who was also inside the home whose injuries were minor. Other residents had to be evacuated from their homes for a few hours because the car hit the home's gas meter and caused a gas leak. The driver's condition is unknown, but he was arrested at the hospital.
This man, however, is innocent until he is proven guilty in a court of law. Atlanta is tough on those charged with DUIs so this man and all others charged with a DUI must make sure that their rights are protected during the process.
Penalties for first offenses
All people charged with a DUI must take part in Georgia's risk reduction program, which requires drivers to take classes to help make sure that their issues with alcohol do not continue to negatively affect their lives. First, the driver is assessed to determine what kind of effect alcohol has on that individual's driving. Then, the driver is required to undergo 20 hours of course work.
Drivers will also be subjected to a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000 and sentenced to spend 10 days to 12 months in prison. The judge has some leeway when it comes to sentencing. Drivers will also have a period of probation for up to 12 months, and this will include time served. Driver's licenses will be suspended for up to one year, and drivers will serve at least 40 hours of community service.
Penalties only increase for those who are convicted of multiple offenses. Fines range from $600 to $5,000 depending upon the number of previous offenses. People convicted a second time must serve at least 72 hours physically in jail and may be sentenced to 90 days to 12 months in prison. People convicted for a third time will be sentenced to jail between 120 days and 12 months and must actually spend 15 days behind bars.
Driver's licenses will be suspended for between three and five years. Drivers must also complete the risk reduction program and a clinical evaluation as well as a substance abuse treatment program if necessary. Those convicted of a DUI for the third time must complete a treatment program. People convicted will spend at least 30 days performing community service and 12 months of probation. Those convicted for a third time will not receive credit for time served.
It is easy to see that people convicted of DUIs in Georgia have many rights at stake. It is important that these people obtain legal assistance to make sure that their rights are protected. An experienced criminal law attorney can help anyone charged with a DUI advocate for his or her rights in court.
# # #
Read more Press Releases from ------- -------:
Motorcyclist killed in car accident
Automobile collides with Chicago police car
Massachusetts laws and penalties for refusing a breathalyzer
Multi-car crash causes several serious injuries
Nine-car crash leaves one killed and five hurt
Nevada man arrested for DUI after colliding with two vehicles
New law regarding texting and driving have mixed reviews
New bill may modify Florida's permanent alimony guidelines
Supreme Court: Warrant needed for drunk driving blood tests
California drivers aren't following the national trend
Press Release Contact Information:
------- ------- ------- ------- ------- -------, ------- ------- ------- Voice: ------- E-Mail:Email us Here Website:Visit Our Website Disclaimer:
This News Release can be viewed online at: http://www.24-7pressrelease.com