All Press Releases for July 12, 2016

Dr. Roger Walton Jones Honored for Excellence in English Education & Writing

Dr. Jones recently published a chapter in "Critical Insights in Southwestern Literature"

Dr. Jones has taught English and literature at Ranger College in Texas since 1991.

    RANGER, TX, July 12, 2016 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Dr. Roger Walton Jones has been included in Marquis Who's Who. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Dr. Jones holds a Ph.D., Master of Arts and Bachelor of Arts, all in English, from Texas A&M University, Southern Illinois University, and Kenyon College, respectively. His studies focused on modern American literature. He utilizes his strong educational foundation in his roles as language educator and writer. Dr. Jones has taught English and literature at Ranger College in Texas since 1991, serving as head of its Department of Humanities and Social/Behavioral Sciences from 1998 to 2014. He previously held teaching positions at Howard Payne University, Texas A&M University, Lamar University, Kean College, and Southern Illinois University.

As a writer, Dr. Jones is perhaps best known for "Larry McMurtry and the Victorian Novel," published in 1994. In February 2016, he published a chapter in "Critical Insights in Southwestern Literature," edited by William Brannon. The chapter was titled, "Coming to Terms with Death in the West: Anticipation of Death and the Effects of Loss in the Novels of Larry McMurtry." Over the course of his career, Dr. Jones has contributed a number of articles and reviews to professional journals. He remains current in his field through affiliations with the Modern Language Association, the South Central Modern Language Association, and the Popular Culture Association.

Dr. Jones has received a number of formal honors in recognition of his success over the years. He was named Educator of the Year by Ranger College in 2001, and he received a Teaching Excellence Award at the 2011 NISOD Conference. In 1983, he received the Merit Incentive Award from Lamar University. Dr. Jones was also featured in the 5th through 8th editions of Who's Who in American Education, the 24th through 27th editions of Who's Who in the South and Southwest, and the 14th and 17th editions of Who's Who in the World. Furthermore, he has appeared in several editions of Who's Who in America published over the past 20 years.

About Marquis Who's Who:
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America, Marquis Who's Who has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in American Law, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Who's Who in Science and Engineering, and Who's Who in Asia. Marquis publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who website at

# # #

Contact Information

Fred Marks
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
New Providence, NJ
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: