All Press Releases for May 10, 2019

Natalie Petesch, Ph.D., Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who

Dr. Petesch has been endorsed by Marquis Who's Who for her lifetime excellence as an author

Natalie Petesch's cultural sensitivity is central to many of her works.

    PITTSBURGH, PA, May 10, 2019 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present Natalie Petesch, Ph.D., with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award for her excellence as an author of novels, novellas, and collections of short stories; and for her having received significant awards and honors during her career. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Dr. Petesch had already published over thirty short stories and excerpts from longer works when her collection of short stories, After The First Death There Is No Other, won the 1974 University of Iowa School of Letters Award for Short Fiction. The collection was published later that year. Also published later that year was her widely-acclaimed feminist novel, The Odyssey of Katinou Kalokovich. These two works were followed by: Two Novels: The Leprosarium and The Long Hot Summers of Yasha K., 1977 (New Letters Summer Prize Book Award, 1978); Soul Clap Its Hands and Sing (short stories), 1981; Duncan's Colony (novel), 1982; Wild With All Regret (short stories), 1986 (Swallow's Tale Press Short Fiction Award, 1985); Flowering Mimosa (novel), 1987; Justina of Andalusia and Other Stories (a novella and short stories set in Spain and Mexico), 1990; The Immigrant Train and Other Stories (short stories set in Poland and among Polish-Americans), 1996; The Confessions of Señora Francesca Navarro and Other Stories (a novella and short stories set in Civil War Spain in the 1930s), 2005.

Dr. Petesch's cultural sensitivity, central to many of the works cited above, is further evidenced by a number of anthology inclusions, such as: "Selma" included in Stories of the Civil Rights Movement, 1965, 2006 and "Ramon el Conejo" included in The Mexican-American Experience in Short Fiction (1965, 1992). It is present, too, in her autobiographical memoir "The Laughter of Hastings Street", included in Contemporary Authors Autobiographical Series, Vol. 12 (1991).

Honors and awards not cited above include a Pennsylvania Council on the Arts Literary Fellowship (1981); the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust's Award for Outstanding Established Artist (1991); inclusion of "Main Street Morning" in Best American Short Stories (1979); the Harvey Carter Webster Award For Best Story (1984); a Kansas Quarterly fiction award (1974); and a Louisville Review Fiction Competition Award (1978).

After earning her Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin in 1962, Dr. Petesch was also able to contribute to the profession of education. Beginning as a Teaching Assistant at the University of Texas in 1956, she was promoted to Special Instructor, a position she held for different periods until 1967. During this time she also taught as Assistant Professor at San Francisco State University and Southwest Texas State University. In 1982-83 she was invited as Distinguished Visiting Professor in Creative Writing at the University of Idaho.

She is deeply interested in social involvement, and maintains membership in several liberal and progressive organizations in the social, political, and environmental areas.

In recognition of outstanding contributions to her profession and the Marquis Who's Who community, Dr. Petesch has been featured on the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement website. Please visit for more information about this honor.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: