All Press Releases for February 06, 2020

David Lewis, PhD, Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who

Dr. Lewis has been endorsed by Marquis Who's Who as a leader in the history field

    NEW YORK, NY, February 06, 2020 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present David Lewis, PhD, with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. An accomplished listee, Dr. Lewis celebrates many years' experience in his professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes he has accrued in his field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

David Levering Lewis's field is comparative history with special focus on 20th-century US social history, imperialism in 19th -century Africa, 20th-century France, and Muslim Iberia. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Fisk University in 1956 with a Bachelor of Arts in history and philosophy. He holds graduate history degrees from Columbia (M.A., '59) and the London School of Economics and Political Science (Ph.D., '63). He has taught at the University of Notre Dame, Howard University, University of California-San Diego; Rutgers-New Brunswick; and Harvard. In 2002, after seventeen years of service, Mr. Lewis relinquished the Rutgers professorship established in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr. He joined New York University's history department in 2003 as Julius Silver Professor. He became Julius Silver University Professor and Professor of History, Emeritus, NYU, in 2013.

Author of ten books and several editions. Mr. Lewis wrote Prisoners of Honor: The Dreyfus Affair (1974), King: A Critical Biography (1970, rev. ed. 1978), the first scholarly biography of Dr. King. Mr. Lewis's civil rights history excursion led him to When Harlem Was in Vogue, a history of the Harlem Renaissance (1980). A 1962 lectureship at the University of Ghana, inspired Lewis to write The Race to Fashoda: European Colonialism and African Resistance to the Scramble for Africa (1988). W.E.B. Du Bois: Biography of a Race, 1868-1919 (1993) received in 1994, respectively, the Bancroft Prize in American History, the Francis Parkman Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize for Biography. In 2001, W.E.B. Du Bois: The Fight for Equality and the American Century, 1919-1963 (2000) received a second Pulitzer Prize for Biography. Lewis's recent book, God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570 to 1215 was published in 2008 and translated into Spanish, Portuguese, Korean, Indonesian, and several other languages. The Improbable Wendell Willkie: The Businessman Who Saved the Republican Party and His Country, and Conceived a New World Order appeared in 2018.

Mr. Lewis has received fellowships from the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (twice), the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the John D. and Catharine T. MacArthur Foundation, and the American Academy in Berlin. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, former trustee of the National Humanities Center, former commissioner of the National Portrait Gallery, former senator of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, and former president of the Society of American Historians. He was awarded the 2010 National Humanities Medal by President Barack Obama at the White House. On May 11, 2015 he received the Arthur Meier Schlesinger, Jr. Distinguished Service Prize from the Society of American Historians. On May 20, 2015, he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters, Honoris Causa, from Columbia University.

David Levering Lewis resides in New York City. His immediate family consists of daughter Allison Lewis and spouse Michael Wilson, sons Eric and Jason (deceased) from Mr. Lewis's marriage to Sharon Siskind, deceased, and granddaughters Marissa and Natalie Wilson. Allegra Stewart survives from his marriage to Ruth Ann Stewart, recently deceased.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Uniondale, NY
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: