All Press Releases for July 28, 2020

Elaine P. Maimon, PhD, Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who

Dr. Maimon has been endorsed by Marquis Who's Who as a leader in the fields of academia and administration

Appointed as the president of Governors State University (GSU) in 2007, Dr. Elaine P. Maimon has led an impressive career in academia for close to five decades.

    CRETE, IL, July 28, 2020 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present Elaine P. Maimon, PhD, with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. An accomplished listee, Dr. Maimon celebrates many years' experience in her professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes she has accrued in her field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Appointed as the president of Governors State University (GSU) in 2007, Dr. Maimon has led an impressive career in academia for close to five decades. Instrumental in her role over the past decade, she has been responsible for several significant advances, resulting in a much strengthened campus life, especially for students of color, older students and veterans. Considered an upper-division institution until 2014, the university now encompasses a thorough four-year program for undergraduates and an award-winning dual degree program, as well as a residence facility and a National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics intercollegiate athletic program.

Prior to her tenure at GSU, Dr. Maimon served as the chancellor and a tenured professor of English at the University of Alaska in Anchorage between 2004 and 2007 and the vice president of Arizona State University from 1996 to 2004. She was also a dean and professor of English at Queens College, City University of New York, from 1988 until 1996 and held various faculty appointments at Brown University, Arcadia University, the University of Pennsylvania, and Haverford College, dating to 1971. A prolific author, Dr. Maimon has written several books and contributed to others. Her most recent book, which was released in 2018, is "Leading Academic Change: Vision Strategy, Transformation." She is the first author of a widely used composition textbook, "A Writer's Resource (McGraw-Hill), now in its sixth edition. Her 1981 text, "Writing in the Arts and Sciences," is considered to be ground-breaking in the establishment of writing across the curriculum.

Extremely active outside of the university, Dr. Maimon has excelled on multiple committees and boards. She has been a continuing member of the Chicago Network since 2008, as well as a member of the president's trust for the Association American Colleges and Universities since 2009. She also recently began serving as a founding board member of the South Suburban Chicago Development Authority in 2019. Among her civic endeavors, Dr. Maimon notably represented the Heard Museum in Phoenix as a trustee from 1999 to 2005.

To prepare for her career, Dr. Maimon studied at the University of Pennsylvania, where she received a Bachelor of Arts in English, magna cum laude, in 1966, followed by a Master of Arts in English in 1967 and a Doctor of Philosophy in English with distinction in 1970. A founder of Writing Across the Curriculum, she has been equally active with several other pertinent organizations in support of her career. In addition to being an elected executive board director of the American Council on Education (2015-2020), she was an executive committee member of the teaching of writing division of the Modern Language Association. She has also found success on several committees with the Association of American Colleges and Universities, the Conference on College Composition and Communication, the National Council of Teachers of English and the National Commission on Women.

Elected to Phi Beta Kappa in her junior year in college and subsequently recognized with multiple awards throughout her career, Dr. Maimon was acknowledged in 1994 when Arcadia University endowed the Elaine Maimon Award for Excellence in Writing in her honor. In recent years, she received an American Council on Education (ACE)/Fidelity Trust Award for Institutional Transformation in 2015, a Chicagoland ATHENA Leadership Award in 2014 and the Donna Shavlik Award for Women's Leadership in Higher Education from the ACE in 2014. In 2019, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities selected Dr. Maimon to give the President to Presidents' address, acknowledging her leadership among her presidential peers. Dr. Maimon also received an Honorary Degree from Prairie State College in 2008.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Uniondale, NY
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: