All Press Releases for August 25, 2020

Fred I. Stalkup, PhD, Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who

Dr. Stalkup has been endorsed by Marquis Who's Who as a leader in the field of petroleum reservoir engineering

    DALLAS, TX, August 25, 2020 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present Fred I. Stalkup, PhD, with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. An accomplished listee, Dr. Stalkup celebrates many years' experience in his professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes he has accrued in his field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

He was active in the petroleum reservoir engineering profession for close to five decades. An alumnus of Rice University, Dr. Stalkup received and undergraduate degree in 1957, followed by a Doctor of Philosophy in chemical engineering in 1962. After graduating from Rice University, he joined the Atlantic Richfield Company (ARCO) at the Exploration and Production Research Center and retired from there in 1998. At AReO he held various leadership roles, including Director, Enhanced Oil Recovery Research; Director, Reservoir Engineering Research; Director, Reservoir Mathematics Research, Senior Research Advisor, and Distinguished Reservoir Engineering Advisor. The latter was ARCO's highest technical position.

After retiring from ARCO in 1998, he joined PetroTel, Inc. three years later as a Distinguished Reservoir Engineering Advisor. PetroTel is an international oil and gas-consulting firm. At PetroTel he consulted on numerous oil recovery project worldwide and retired from there in 2010.

Dr. Staikup is regarded as a world expert in the miscible flood oil recovery process. He wrote the book "Miscible Displacement" in 1983 published through the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Other areas of expertise include water flooding, gas condensate reservoir behavior, equation-of-state phase behavior modeling, pilot test design and analysis, and compositional reservoir simulation. He is the author or co-author of more than 25 scientific articles to scholarly journals, and he co-authored the chapter on miscible flooding in the Petroleum Engineering Handbook. He has been involved in the evaluation of various miscible flood projects worldwide and was the unit consultant for the Prudhoe Bay enriched-gas drive flood, the largest project of its kind in the world.

Dr. Stalkup has been very active in his professional society, The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). He served as chairman of numerous SPE committees and as session chairman for numerous SPE technical meetings and Symposia He was an SPE Distinguished Lecturer in 1985. He also served as the general chairperson of the Gordon Research Conference on Flow in Permeable Media in New Hampshire and as a participant of the Department of Energy research program for fossil fuels by the National Academy of Engineering. He was a participant and member of the Coordinating subcommittee for two Nation Petroleum Council studies (1976, 1984) of the potential for enhanced oil recovery in the United States. He also served twice as the session chairperson of the World Petroleum Congress in Tokyo and Houston.

He is a registered professional engineer in Texas.

He has received numerous recognitions for his career achievements. He was elected to the United States National Academy of Engineering in 1985, an honor reserved for about one percent of the nation's engineers. He also is a member of the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas. He is a Distinguished Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Dr. Sta1kup has received all four of the SPE's highest achievement awards: the Lester C. Uren Award in 1985, The Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal, in 1995, the John Franklin Carll Award in 2005, and the Honorary Member Award in 2013. This later award is reserved for about one-tenth of a percent of the society's worldwide membership.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Uniondale, NY
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: