All Press Releases for August 28, 2020

Marquis Who's Who Honors Robert Lopez Flynn with Inclusion in Who's Who in the World

Mr. Flynn is a celebrated Western novelist and a former professor

    SHAVANO PARK, TX, August 28, 2020 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to honor Robert Lopez Flynn with inclusion in Who's Who in the World. An accomplished listee, Mr. Flynn celebrates many years' experience in his professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes he has accrued in his field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Mr. Flynn is renowned as a celebrated novelist who has garnered much acclaim for his deconstructionist Westerns, including the Wrangler Award-winning "North to Yesterday," published in 1967. It was also included in The New York Times; 20 Best Books of Fiction that year. As a young man, his father, a World War I veteran, encouraged him to begin keeping a daily journal. The habit soon evolved into writing essays and fiction, and he eventually decided to pursue writing as a vocation. After serving his country in the United States Marine Corps from 1950 until 1952, Mr. Flynn enrolled at Baylor University, earning a Bachelor of Arts in 1954 and a Master of Arts in 1956.

In 1957, Mr. Flynn began his career as a professor at Gardner-Webb College, where he would teach until 1959. He returned to Baylor University in 1959 as a member of the faculty, serving until 1963, at which point he was appointed as a novelist-in-residence at Trinity University in San Antonio. Many of Mr. Flynn's works were written while in residence at Trinity, including "Sounds of Rescue, Signs of Hope" in 1970, the short story collection "Seasonal Rain" in 1984, his memoir, "Personal War in Vietnam," in 1989, "Wanderer Springs" and "Echoes of Glory" which both received Spur Awards from Western Writers of America, "Tie-Fast Country" and two "Jade" books. He hopes to write a third Jade book when he completes "Vietnam: You Never Go Home" (working title), and "Holy Literary License."

Throughout his career, Mr. Flynn has been the recipient of numerous literary awards and accolades, including a 1970 Southwest Booksellers Award, a 1987 Spur Award and induction into the Texas Literary Hall of Fame in 2012. His writing has brought him to more than 70 countries on seven continents, and he considers his vast travels to be the highlight of a varied and storied career. He has been profiled in several editions of Marquis Who's Who, and is recognized as a fellow of the Texas Institute of Letters, for which he flourished as the president from 1990 until 1992. Mr. Flynn is active in PEN, with which he supports human rights and literary advocacy as a Marine combat correspondence associate.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Uniondale, NY
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: