All Press Releases for April 09, 2024

Marquis Who's Who Honors Dilip B. Madan, PhD, for Expertise in Education and Consulting

Dr. Dilip B. Madan has been honored by Marquis Who's Who for his contributions to financial mathematics

He has held the esteemed position of professor of finance at the Robert H. Smith School of Business of the University of Maryland since 1988.

    SILVER SPRING, MD, April 09, 2024 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Dilip B. Madan, PhD, has been selected for inclusion in Marquis Who's Who. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Dr. Madan has established a distinguished career in financial mathematics, holding the esteemed position of professor of finance at the Robert H. Smith School of Business of the University of Maryland since 1988. His expertise in this field is recognized globally, having served as a consultant to several prestigious financial institutions, including Morgan Stanley, since 1996. Prior to his current role, Dr. Madan was a professor at the University of Sydney from 1976 to 1988, where he began his academic journey in finance. His consultancy work extends to Norges Bank Investment Management, Meru Capital, Caspian Capital, Citigroup, Bloomberg, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and Wachovia Securities. These roles have allowed him to apply his theoretical knowledge to practical challenges in the finance sector.

Dr. Madan's contributions to financial mathematics are not limited to academia and consultancy; he is also a founding member and past president of the Bachelier Finance Society. This involvement underscores his commitment to advancing the field and fostering a community among professionals who share his passion for quantitative finance. His significant contributions to the discipline include the development of the Variance Gamma Model for Option Pricing, implementation of the fast Fourier transform for Option Pricing and the development of the Conic Finance theory of two price markets.

The foundation of Dr. Madan's professional achievements lies in his extensive education. He earned a Doctor of Philosophy in mathematics in 1975 and a Doctor of Philosophy in economics in 1972, both from the University of Maryland. These degrees followed a Bachelor of Science in economics and accounting from the University of Mumbai in India in 1967. The rigorous training and research skills acquired through these programs have been instrumental in Dr. Madan's ability to innovate and excel in his field.

Dr. Madan's career is decorated with numerous accolades that reflect his impact on financial engineering and research. In 2021, he was honored with the Financial Engineer of the Year Award. He held the Eurandom Chair in 2010 and received the Medal for Science from the University of Bologna in 2008. Risk Magazine named him Quant of the Year in 2007, and he was awarded the Humboldt Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in 2006. These awards testify to his hard work, passion, and significant contributions to economics and mathematics.

About Marquis Who's Who®:
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Marquis celebrates its 125th anniversary in 2023, and Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at

# # #

Contact Information

-- --
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Uniondale, NY
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: