All Press Releases for November 03, 2017

Raymond M. Hakim, M.D., Ph.D., FASN, Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who

Raymond M. Hakim, M.D., Ph.D., FASN is currently Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

    FRANKLIN, TN, November 03, 2017 /24-7PressRelease/ -- Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present Dr. Raymond M. Hakim with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. An accomplished listee, Dr. Hakim celebrates many years' experience in his professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes he has accrued in his field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Dr. Hakim began his career as an engineer, having received a Master of Science degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1965, and a PhD in Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1967. He returned to Montreal to work as a research engineer at Hydro-Quebec research.

In 1972, Dr. Hakim changed his career path and entered McGill University to study Medicine, completing his residency in Internal Medicine at the Royal Victoria Hospital in 1979, and a fellowship in Nephrology at Harvard Medical School and the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston in 1981.

From 1981 to 1987, he served on the faculty of Harvard University and was Associate Professor of Medicine and attending nephrologist at the Brigham and Women's Hospital. In 1987, he was recruited to Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville and became full-time Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he also served as Director of Clinical Services in Nephrology and Medical Director of the dialysis facility.

In 1995, Dr. Hakim became one of the founders and Chief Medical Office of Renal Care Group, a provider of outpatient dialysis services. In 2005, Renal Care Group, which at the time was serving more than 35,000 patients, had the lowest mortality and hospitalization among all dialysis providers, according to the United States Renal Data System (USRDS). In 2007, Renal Care Group merged with Fresenius Medical Care and subsequently, Dr. Hakim became the Chief Medical Officer for Fresenius Medical Care-NA from 2009 to 2012, again his tenure at FMC-NA was associated with a 20% reduction in mortality and hospitalization of the patients it served.

Dr. Hakim has spoken at multiple patient and health care professional meetings and has authored more than 190 articles regarding clinical and basic research in dialysis and plasmapheresis. He also contributed 35 chapters to medical books.

Throughout his career, Dr. Hakim received several awards most notably as

1."Best Doctors in America" and "America's Top Physicians" in multiple years, starting in 1994

2. Joel D. Kopple Award, National Kidney Foundation (2009)

3. Medal of Excellence Award from the American Association of Kidney Patients (2011)

4. Most recently, the Belding Scribner Award from the American Society of Nephrology (2017)

He also chaired or participated in several professional committees, including:

Chairman, NKF of Middle Tennessee (1991-1993)

Chairman of USRDS Scientific Advisory Committee (1993-1996)

Chairman, RPA Program Planning Committee (1998-2000)

Chairman, Renal Leadership Council (1999)

Chairman, Kidney Care Partners (2003-2005)

Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee, Prometic (2012-2014)

Member, ASN Public Policy Board and ASN (2011 - present)

He was also a member of the Editorial Board of the AJKD, Seminars in Dialysis and Kidney International

Dr. Hakim attributes his success to:

Mentorship by Dr. Ed Lowrie, Dr. Barry Brenner, Dr. Douglas Fearon, and Dr. Harry Jacobson

Team effort in applying principles of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)

His strategy is summed up by the question he often poses to himself and those he works with:

"How can we do better for patients entrusted to our care?"

About Marquis Who's Who :
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America , Marquis Who's Who has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who website at

# # #

Contact Information

Fred Marks
Marquis Who's Who Ventures LLC
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Voice: 844-394-6946
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: