All Press Releases for November 30, 2011

Songwriter David Wilcox Releases Digital Album of Unreleased Early Recordings

David Wilcox, Mix Tape: 1979-1982 - A Musical Polaroid, available 11/28/11.

    SHUTESBURY, MA, November 30, 2011 /24-7PressRelease/ -- In the summer of 1979, a young summer camp counselor poured his soul into a tape recorder, capturing on a series of cassettes his unfiltered attempts to emulate the folk-singers he idolized. The songs were half-written, his voice was shaky and untrained, and his studio was a summer camp dorm room, a wheatfield, a quiet barn, or wherever he and his pals could rest a tape-recorder. Though the production takes "lo-fi" to new lows, the youthful exuberance in the recordings is undeniable, and the burgeoning talent of that young musician named David Wilcox (who would go on to have a career as one of the most respected folk musicians of the last 3 decades) shines through the crackle and hiss like a diamond in the rough. Those tapes recently resurfaced, and many of the songs contained within were found to be early drafts of Wilcox's now beloved discography, along with a handful of cover tunes and traditionals.

Culled from the summer camp collection, we are proud to release the digital-exclusive album David Wilcox, Mix Tape: 1979-1982 - A Musical Polaroid of a legendary songwriter in the making. The songs on this album have never been heard before. Listeners will open a time capsule that David Wilcox lovingly assembled in his young adulthood, and they will recognize the early manifestations of the gifted songwriter, with plenty of his famously puckish personality throughout. In the warm analog atmosphere of these tapes, they will hear familiar intonations of the voice they know and fragments of the lyrics they love. It is an endeavor that may offend some of the strictest audiophiles, but it will reward those who wish to hear where it all began.

David Wilcox, Mix Tape: 1979-1982 - A Musical Polaroid

1. I Don't Know Me
2. May You Never (John Martyn)
3. The Sidewalk Cafe
4. Tattler (Ry Cooder)
5. Pull Me Away
6. Poems, Prayers and Promises (John Denver)
7. Riding on a Railroad (James Taylor)
8. Spice of Life
9. Letter to Andrea
10. Sleepy Harbor
11. Distant Water, Blue Hill ME (Live Bonus Track)

The download is available exclusively from The digital album costs $7.99, and is available for a limited time only.

# # #

Contact Information

Jaime Campbell Morton
Shutesbury, MA
Voice: 413-259-1111
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website