All Press Releases for November 02, 2017

Bob Wolff to be feted by WFUV Radio with Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award on November 1

Judy Woodruff, Gwen Ifill to receive Charles Osgood Award

    NEW YORK, NY, November 02, 2017 /24-7PressRelease/ -- WFUV Radio (90.7 FM/ will honor the late, legendary sportscaster Bob Wolff with the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting at "On the Record: a celebration of achievement in news and sports broadcasting," on Wednesday night, November 1st, at the Fordham University School of Law in Manhattan.

PBS NewsHour anchors Judy Woodruff and the late Gwen Ifill will receive the Charles Osgood Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism, is the Anchor and Managing Editor of the PBS NewsHour. She has covered politics and other news for more than four decades at CNN, NBC and PBS.

Both Awards acknowledge two distinguished Fordham alumni who launched their careers at WFUV Radio.

Wolff is credited as the only sportscaster to call the play-by-play of championships in all four major professional team sports - the NFL's championship, baseball's World Series, basketball NBA Finals and hockey's Stanley Cup. He interviewed Babe Ruth, was the original voice of the Washington Senators in 1947, and was the Voice of the New York Knicks for both the franchise's championship teams. His son Rick Wolff will accept on his behalf. Another distinguished baseball broadcaster, Fordham alumnus (FCRH '82) and WFUV product, Michael Kay, the television "Voice of the New York Yankees" on YES Network and ESPN NY 98.7 FM Radio host of The Michael Kay Show, will make the presentation on behalf of Mr. Scully and WFUV.

Exceptional WFUV student broadcaster John Furlong (FCRH '18) for Sports will also be among those honored. On the Record is designed to raise funds and elevate awareness with regard to WFUV's news and sports training programs.
CBS This Morning Saturday Co-host and National correspondent Anthony Mason will moderate an armchair discussion as the Rick Wolff, Bob's son, and Woodruff reflect on two extraordinary careers.

Alice Gainer, FCRH '04, CBS 2 reporter and co-anchor for WLNY-TV News, will serve as the emcee for the evening.

Previous Scully Award recipients include: inaugural honoree Scully (2008), Dick Enberg (2009), Ernie Harwell (2010), Pat Summerall (2011), Al Michaels (2012), Bob Costas (2013),Verne Lundquist (2014), Mike "Doc" Emrick (2015) and Brent Musburger (2016). Previous Osgood Award recipients include: inaugural honoree Osgood (2008), Jim Lehrer (2009), Bob Schieffer (2010), Tom Brokaw (2011), Christiane Amanpour (2012), Sam Donaldson (2013), Scott Simon (2014), Charlie Rose (2015) and Lesley Stahl (2016).

The gala is a benefit to support WFUV (90.7 FM or, New York's source for music discovery, and a noncommercial, member-supported public media service of Fordham University for nearly 70 years. All proceeds will be used to support WFUV's one-of-a-kind training programs for Fordham University students. Each year, FUV provides 70 to 85 paid internships; workshops for 120 to 150 students - in news and sports multiplatform journalism, engineering, and production; and 40,000+ hours of training and public service. Participants and graduates of this hands-on education go on to receive awards in all areas of broadcasting. Since 2010, alone, WFUV has won more than 150 national and local awards for news and sports. Student stories are often highlighted on NPR's Morning Edition and All Things Considered.

Register online at

For further information, please contact Alexis Harrigan, Senior Director of Development for WFUV, at or 212-636-6508.

# # #

Contact Information

Alexis Harrigan
Bronx, NY
Voice: 212-636-6508
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website