All Press Releases for March 02, 2006

HONOLULU, Hawai'i., — 2006 Distinguished Economic Botanists Award Winners Named.

Dr. David Lentz, President of the Society for Economic Botany, announced today the recipients of the 2006 Distinguished Economic Botanist Award, the society's highest honor for professionals.

    /24-7PressRelease/ - HONOLULU, HI, March 02, 2006 - This year two researchers will be honored June 8 in a formal ceremony during the annual meeting in Chang Mai, Thailand. Drs. Walter and Memory Elvin-Lewis were selected to receive the award this year.

The award recognizes their "exemplary botanical research, particularly medicinal plants, their service to the community of ethnobotanists, and decades of teaching thousands of undergraduates and dozens of graduate students at Washington University in St. Louis," added Daniel Moerman, Editor-in-Chief of the society's journal, Economic Botany.

The Distinguished Economic Botanist, established in 1978, is bestowed annually by the Society on the basis of outstanding education and research accomplishments. The award represents the ultimate achievement in the field of Economic Botany. The Society for Economic Botany is the largest international scientific organization fostering and encouraging research and education on the past, present, and future uses of plants by people.

The Society for Economic Botany (SEB) was established in 1959 to foster and encourage scientific research, education, and related activities on the past, present, and future uses of plants, and the relationship between plants and people, and to make the results of such research available to the scientific community and the general public through meetings and publications. SEB is a 501 c(3) non-profit organization registered in the state of NY.

# # #

Contact Information

Michael Thomas
Society for Economic Botany
Honolulu, HI
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website