All Press Releases for February 11, 2015

North American Travel Journalists Association Announces 2014 Award Winners for Excellence in Travel Writing, Photography, Promotion

Grand Prize Winners: National Geographic Traveler, Michael DeFreitas, Michael Luongo, Rebecca Rhoades, and Visit Tampa Bay

The competition, now in its 23rd year, honors the "best of the best" in travel journalism and destination marketing.

    PASADENA, CA, February 11, 2015 /24-7PressRelease/ -- The North American Travel Journalists Association (NATJA) has announced the winners of its 2014 NATJA Awards Competition. Awards were given to publications, travel writers, and photographers whose work was represented in print, electronic and online media from October 2013 through September 2014. Additionally, awards were given to the top convention and visitors bureaus, PR agencies or destination marketing organizations. The competition, now in its 23rd year, honors the "best of the best" in travel journalism.

"NATJA received an overwhelming number of entries in this year's awards competition. The stories and photographs were so compelling and life-like that they placed the reader in that moment. This made it challenging for the judges to select the winners," said Helen Hernandez, CEO of the organization. "The award entries this last year were clearly, the best ever in NATJA's history. We congratulate all of the Grand Prize winners, Gold, Silver and Bronze winners for bringing to life their travel experiences for the general public." This year's Grand Prize winners were selected for their superior execution of narrative and photography. National Geographic Traveler is a publication that effectively combines world-class journalism with visually stimulating photography to provide an entertaining and engaging reader experience; Visit Tampa Bay for their comprehensive and well-communicated marketing for their destination; Michael DeFreitas for his spectacular and captivating photography; Michael Luongo for his unique and thought-provoking stories; and Rebecca Rhoades for her fascinating and diverse story-telling.

Additionally, one first place (Gold) winner is chosen in each of the categories along with 2nd (Silver), 3rd place (Bronze) and Finalists.

A complete list of the winners and finalists are available on the NATJA website at and the NATJA publication website,

The North American Travel Journalists Association (NATJA) is one of the premier professional associations of writers, photographers, editors, and tourism professionals dedicated to supporting the professional development of its members, providing exceptional benefits and valuable resources, encouraging high quality professional journalism, promoting travel and leisure activities to the public, and honoring the excellence of journalism throughout the world. More information about the organization can be found online at

# # #

Contact Information

Yanira Leon
North American Travel Journalists Association
Pasadena, CA
United States
Voice: 626-376-9754
E-Mail: Email Us Here
Website: Visit Our Website
Follow Us: